February 23, 2023



ATLANTA – The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) public art program Artbound welcomes four new members to its Council for the Arts. Created in 2017, the Council meets quarterly to provide perspective to MARTA’s public art programming, helping amplify the work of Artbound and advocate for public art and transit. 

“Council members are chosen based on their connection to the arts, equity, and their commitment to thriving communities,” said Art in Transit Director Katherine Dirga. “Each member brings their individual talents and unique viewpoints to the table, and I’m excited to work with these gifted community members.”

MARTA General Manager and CEO Collie Greenwood has appointed the following new members to MARTA’s Council for the Arts:

Franco Bejarano – Artist & Clinical Social Worker
Bejarano uses his artwork to tackle societal issues and mental health through the mediums of portraiture, children’s books, and art therapy.

Brian Hebert – Arts Clayton, Executive Director
Hebert is a visual artist/curator/educator who built the visual arts programming at the Southwest Art Center where he organized and curated exhibitions and visual arts projects and programs. 

Dorian McDuffie – Atlanta City Studio Public Art Manager
McDuffie is a public art project manager currently focused on incorporating art in the right-of-way to creatively enhance the efforts of the City of Atlanta Department of City Planning. 

Christopher Swain – City of East Point Public Art Coordinator
Swain has spent over 25 years traveling throughout Africa, documenting African music, dance, sculpture, costume, painting, and other visual and performance art forms.

Returning Council members include: 

Briana X. Camelo – Office of Cultural Affairs Public Art Administrator

Aixa Pascual – Atlanta Regional Commission Senior Communications Strategist, Writer & Content Creator

Erika Smith – Manager, TechSpark Metro - Microsoft Philanthropies

Josh Phillipson (Member Ex-Officio) – Principal for Arts, Culture and Creative Placemaking at the Atlanta Regional Commission, and former Chair of MARTA Council for the Arts

The Council meets quarterly, and members serve two-year terms with a one-term renewal option. The attached document contains photos and bios for all Council members.

One percent of MARTA’s annual budget is allocated for its Artbound program which was developed to enhance the ridership experience through visual and performing arts.



Back to top