May 2, 2024


ATLANTA – The Metropolitan Atlanta Rapid Transit Authority (MARTA) has selected its next Riders’ Advisory Council (RAC), an all-volunteer group dedicated to helping improve the transit experience for MARTA customers. 

The new, 25-member council is composed of people drawn from MARTA’s service area – the City of Atlanta, DeKalb, Fulton, and Clayton counties. During their two-year terms, RAC members will provide nonbinding, informed input to MARTA.

“The Riders’ Advisory Council provides us with vital feedback to help us improve our service and overall customer experience,” said MARTA General Manager and CEO Collie Greenwood. “I want to thank each new member for volunteering their time to advocate and educate on behalf of our customers. By sharing their real-world experiences with us, they will help us improve our service and connect us more closely to the communities we serve.” 

MARTA’s Chief Customer Experience Officer, Rhonda Allen, oversees the RAC in a role that was created to transform the agency’s business practices and to sharpen its focus on customer-facing initiatives. 

Starting in June, RAC members will meet monthly to provide input on various topics including helping MARTA improve mobile apps and our digital customer communication platforms, rail station appearance and amenities and major transit expansion projects.

RAC members learn about the inner workings of the transit system, participate in behind-the-scenes tours of operating facilities, and receive briefings on proposed transit initiatives and MARTA’s governance and finance. They also have opportunities to interact directly with fellow customers while serving as transit ambassadors during sporting events and concerts.

The inaugural group of RAC members was seated in 2020. The most recent RAC completed their terms this month after providing meaningful input to MARTA on a wide range of topics. Former RAC members are encouraged to continue playing a role in advancing MARTA’s ongoing customer experience journey.  

RAC members were selected after an open application process based on criteria including ridership habits, commuting experiences and community involvement. The composition of RAC membership intentionally reflects the demographic diversity of the metro Atlanta region.

For more information about the RAC visit MARTA (itsmarta.com) or email rac@itsmarta.com.

Below is the full list of new Riders’ Advisory Council members for the 2024-2026 term.

City of Atlanta: Guadalupe Bravo, Jenna Daniel, Jovan Johnson, Julia Lee, Stephen Pellicer, Ryan Robertson, Branden Saunders, Whytne Stevens

DeKalb County: Octavius Armstrong, Noah Crafts, Alao Folshade, Doretha Johnson, Latania McKenzie, Viola Merrell, Sharon Wallace

Fulton County: Natashah Bezara, Victoria Chapman, Germika “Gee” Pegram, Erin Salvaggio, Ben Shivers, LaSasha Van

Clayton County: Malachi Simmons, Donnell Suggs, Mark Taylor, Valerie Williams



Back to top